Overview: The Hodson Science Student Research Fund was established by Arthur Hodson in loving memory of his wife, Nelle, who passed away from breast cancer. Its goal is to provide funding for outstanding student-faculty research. Funds from this endowment may be used for supplies, student stipends, equipment, and other items needed to the ongoing work of scientific research at Indiana Wesleyan University. Preference is given to research being conducted in the fields of chemistry, biology, and physics; however, other projects from the School of Physical and Applied Sciences are also considered. Further preference is give to projects that maximize faculty-student collaboration. The fund is designed to give students an opportunity to gain research experience while being directed in a faculty-led research setting at IWU. Recipients present their findings at various scientific conferences and scholarship forums at IWU.

Primary aims of the program:

  • To increase the quantity and quality of undergraduate research at IWU
  • To facilitate the development of critical thinking skills of IWU students
  • To assist faculty in their desire to mentor students in research by offering a dedicated time and funding source for summer research
  • To attract and retain high-achieving students in the natural sciences
  • To provide an enriching, collaborative learning experience for the greatest diversity of faculty and qualified students in the natural sciences

Here are a few of our many outstanding HSRI alumni:

  • Ethan Naylor - Graduate student at Johns Hopkins University
  • Nicole Vander Schaaf - Graduate student at the Van Andel Institute
  • Blair Skinner - Medical student at Indiana University
  • David Swygart - Graduate student at Northwestern University
  • Joshua Ostrander - Graduate student at the University of Wisconsin - Madison
  • Samantha Scouten - Medical student at Oakland University William Beaumont
  • Nate Linna - Medical student at Indiana University
  • Ethan Laudermilch - Graduate student at Yale University
  • Tyler Derr - Medical student at Indiana University
  • Jacob Eckles, MPH - International Health Analyst at US Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Global Affairs
  • Nicholas Brown - Graduate student at the University of Cincinnati
  • Brianna Burns, MPH - Researcher at Ohio Department of Health
  • Tobias Rumschlag - Medical student at Loyola University